

Thurgood Marshall Award for Exceptional Pro Bono Service

Established by the Federal Bar Council in 2014

The Thurgood Marshall Award for Exceptional *Pro Bono* Service recognizes and celebrates lawyers in private practice who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to *pro bono* legal services, and who have provided or facilitated the provision of *pro bono* services in federal courts or agencies within the Second Circuit.

The Council created the award in the name of Justice Thurgood Marshall to encourage attorneys and their firms to devote time to *pro bono* work. The award recognizes lawyers who have gone above and beyond in making an extraordinary contribution in the area of *pro bono* service.

The inaugural award was presented on October 2, 2014, at the Federal Bar Foundation's 50th Anniversary Celebration at The Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House in New York. The award will be presented annually by the Federal Bar Council at a summer reception.

2014 - Alan E. Schoenfeld

2015 - Steven J. Kolleeny (Posthumously)

2015 - Matthew Benjamin

2016 - Scott Wilcox

2017 - David B. Shanies (Rising Star)

2017 – Mary J. Eaton (Veteran)

2018 - Shaimaa M. Hussein (Rising Star)

2018 – Stephen G. Schwarz (Veteran)

2018 - Michael R. Wolford (Veteran)

2019 - Karen King (Veteran)

2019 - Anna Domyancic (Rising Star)

2020 - Neil Steiner (Veteran)

2020 - Chanwoo Park (Rising Star)

2021 - Jonathan Youngwood (Veteran)

2021 - Marisa Taney (Rising Star)

2022 - Tawfig S. Rangwala (Veteran)

2022 - Lee R. Crain (Rising Star)