

Whitney North Seymour Award Established by the Federal Bar Council in 1987

The Council presents an annual award at its Winter Meeting for "outstanding public service by a private practitioner." The award is named in honor of the late Whitney North Seymour, a leading member of the bar who served as president of the American Bar Association, the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, the Legal Aid Society, and in countless other major positions of leadership at the bar and in the community. Except for a brief tour as Assistant Solicitor General of the United States early in his career, Mr. Seymour made all of his many contributions to the public good while in private practice, in the course of which he exemplified the highest standards of excellence. The award is in the form of a barrister's wig case, similar to the type utilized by barristers in Great Britain and to a case acquired by Whitney North Seymour at the time he was made an honorary bencher of Lincoln's Inn on the occasion of the first meeting of the American Bar Association held in London.

2022 - Vilia B. Hayes

2021 - no award conferred (due

to Covid)

2020 - Evan R. Chesler

2019 - Ernest J. Collazo

2018 - Carey R. Dunne

2017 - Roy L. Reardon

2016 - George A. Davidson

2015 - Samuel W. Seymour

2014 - Frank H. Wohl

2013 - David R. Schaefer

2012 - Patricia M. Hynes

2011 - William F. Plunkett, Jr.

2010 - Audrey Strauss

2009 - Michael A. Cooper

2008 – Steven M. Edwards

2007 - Bettina B. Plevan

2006 - Kenneth R. Feinberg

2005 - Michael F. Armstrong

2004 - James F. Stapleton

2003 - Frederic S. Nathan

2002 – Evan A. Davis

2001 – Bernard W. Nussbaum

2000 - Richard J. Davis

1999 - Hon. Marvin E. Frankel

1998 - Robert B. Fiske

1997 – Robert MacCrate

1996 - Dean John D. Feerick

1995 – Robert M. Kaufman

- 1994 Hon. Conrad K. Harper
- 1993 Thomas W. Evans
- 1992 Amb. Morris B. Abram
- 1991 Frederick A.O. Schwartz, Jr.
- 1990 Robert B. McKay
- 1989 Joseph H. Flom
- 1988 Alexander D. Forger
- 1987 Arthur L. Liman